A Life of Privilege

If you judge me by how I look, you will see someone very lucky.

I’m 6’6″, white, male, blue eyes, and I’m in decent enough shape.

I’ve led an extremely privileged life. Everywhere I go, people are nice to me because of how I look – I know this. I don’t know to what extent, but I have to assume that how I look has an extreme influence on how people treat me.

Although I was bullied extensively in school, and the first thing people comment on when they meet me is my appearance, I know this pales in comparison to what women and people of color go through on a daily basis. People being mean to me isn’t the same thing as killing someone, or a lifetime of abuse.

If I could give what I have away, I would. I don’t deserve it. I don’t deserve most of the things I have in my life.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started